Homemade Foot Molds

My children have clubfoot. Lem has bilateral clubfoot, and A-man has unilateral clubfoot. We are really fortunate to have an amazing medical team at the hospital that they go to their appointments at, and neither of them have needed surgery besides a minor procedure that Lem had to release the tendon in the back of one of her feet. Both children’s feet are fully corrected (A-man’s are corrected ALREADY!), and they both wear braces to maintain the correction until they are 3 years old. Right now Lem wears her braces 12 hours a day, but A-man is new to braces and he wears them 23 hours a day minimum.

Now, my kids are pretty awesome… but they understandably do NOT like having their braces put back on for the most part. As the night-time parent here, and the person with smaller hands, I’m the one who does braces almost all the time. It’s hard sometimes. You don’t want your kids to have to be uncomfortable, but you know that it’s what they need in order to be healthy and happy down the road. I decided that I could use a little “reminder” above their changetable, so I’ve been toying with ideas for what to hang there… I thought about photographs of their feet, or of Lem walking and Alex’s feet… then I decided to do molds of their feet and hang them up. I found a recipe online for plaster made from flour, salt, and water and baked in the oven, and then I was on my way.

coolin

Our baby feet cooling after coming out of the oven.

They still needed something, even though we put food colouring into the plaster to tinge it green. So Lem and I decided to paint them yesterday afternoon.

aa

Freshly painted. The parts that Lem didn’t paint seemed “unfinished” and I needed a way to tie in her pink ribbon, so I painted some pinky red around the areas that she didn’t paint.

aaa

Then I added some ribbon from my ribbon stash, tied it in a pretty bow, and they’re all ready to hang up.

Of course, a photo blog post wouldn’t be a photo blog post without one of my cute kids.

Have some A-man during his brace-free time this morning:

alex

2 Comments

  1. russellsfeet said,

    March 8, 2010 at 1:29 am

    What a wonderful idea! I was thinking to do something similar for my son who is currently in 23 hr per day bracing. Can you share your reciepe with me?

    Thanks!

    Christine

    • craftyclutter said,

      March 8, 2010 at 3:08 am

      2 cups of flour
      1 cup of salt
      1 cup of water

      Mix well. I found we had to add a bit of water but you don’t want it to be too sticky. Bake for 2-2.5 hours at 250 degrees. You want the finished plaques to be hard but not browned. If you have any other questions feel free to ask. And bracing gets better, I promise.


Leave a Reply

