Sunday – A Call for Crockpottery

Well, it’s Sunday, and it’s a work day, so that should kind of indicate what kind of mood this entry is going to take.

As you can see from my craft tally I’ve been doing pretty much nothing but taking care of a sick baby and knitting dishcloths.  I’m hoping to start on a newborn pair of longies soon, but just need to get measurements first.  They are going to be REALLY cute.  And will be another line on the craft tally since I haven’t knit any longies this year yet.

I’m just working on a meal plan and thinking about how much easier my meal plan would be if we actually ate meals together instead of working opposite hours.  I mean, this works out well for us in a lot of other ways, but when it comes to “What’s for Supper” it’s a lot more difficult. 

I need to better use my crockpot, I think.  It deserves a permanent home on my counter.

If you know of any websites with good crockpot recipes, leave them in the comments section!  I’m hoping to go through some of my crockpot cookbooks tonight and plan some things out that we haven’t tried.

3 Comments

  1. mestroh(mom) said,

    January 26, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I have a whole book on crock pot cooking…. You can use it! I’ll try to remember to mail it to you.

  2. jenniedee said,

    January 27, 2009 at 3:12 am

    I love the crock pot. Love it. I make all kinds of stuff in there, although I don’t really have many recipes per se. I will be posting more of them on my blog as I go through the year, but the things I’ve made so far in 2009 are: Pork and sauerkraut; BBQ beef; chile-rubbed pork… I think that might be it. It’s mostly great for buying cheaper cuts of meat and cooking them a long time.

  3. Stephanie Schweitzer said,

    February 1, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    if you like pork, pick up a pork shoulder, they are usually cheap and throw it in the crock pot with two full cloves of garlic, pressed but not chopped up, a cup of apple juice and about half a cup of soy sauce. Leave it on LO for the day and when you come home you will have a delicious pork shoulder that falls apart. I also like this one because the left overs can be mixed with some bbq sauce for a great sandwich.

    I make chili in the crock pot all the time

    any cheap beef roast put in the crock pot with about 3/4 of a cup of water, some garlic, and your carrots and potatoes in the crock pot cooking all day with the meat is one of my favorites. It makes the vegetables super tasty and makes a nice little gravy for the meat.

    My mom made an AMAZING beef stew in her crock pot when I visited last week, when I get the recipie from her I will send it to you. It is so tasty


Leave a Reply

