A Plethora of Pictures

So we spent last weekend in Buffalo with Ryan’s parents.  We had a great time, and I was finally able to go to the 12 hour scrapbooking crop that everyone is always talking about!  It was so great, although I only made it for about 11 hours and 15 minutes before I fizzled out and wasn’t able to concentrate any longer. 

I thought that I would share some of my favourites out of the pages that I completed while I was down there.  I primarily worked on Lem’s first year book, which consists of a “birth” page, 2 page layouts for each of the months (pictures on one page, a calendar page on the other page), and then a “Happy 1st Birthday” page at the back.  The book is not finished, because some of the pages need a few more pictures, and all of them need the calendars filled in more completely, but I made huge progress on it and I”d say it’s about 80% finished where before it was probably 20% finished.

Here are a few noteworth pages from that book:

Lem’s 1st Month:

We took so many pictures during her first month that it was really difficult to pick even 5 favourites!  I love using the circle cutters that Ryan’s Mom bought me for my birthday a couple of years ago, and I think that they really added to this page.

Lem’s 10th Month:

I love the many faces in this page, and also Meagan let me use that pop uppy flower in the bottom left from her flower package.  I love how it’s 3d.

Lem’s 11th month:

In this picture Lem is wearing her pink Buffalo Sabres outfit.  I just thought that the page was so cute with all of the pink and the “All Girl” but still a sports fan feel to it.

Lem’s ONE!:

I love the chipboard and the Dr. Seuss quote on this page.  Also more than anything else, I love the picture on the right which you can’t even see that well because of the reflection off of the glossy page (I was too lazy to take each of them out to photograph).

Pocket Full of Birthday Cards:

Meagan taught me how to make a pocket for birthday cards, which was awesome because I really had no idea how to showcase them in the book without cutting them all up.  I’m going to reuse this idea in a bunch of my other albums now that I know about it.

First Hallowe’en:

I planned this layout in advance (although with the next one)… and I just like the way that two of them turned out.  I think I may need to plan in advance more often, lol.

Pretty in Pink:

Sleepy Bear:

I’ve been looking for a way to use those sparkly brackets, and I really like how this turned out.  I had to actually borrow paper from Sandra because I had none that I thought matched right.  (Which is crazy because usually I’m the person with the largest paper stack).

 *******

On Sunday, we went shopping at Joann’s.  In the Michael’s flyer they were advertising their sugar and cream cotton yarn for $1 a ball, which it is regularly about $2.50.  Since I love to do dishcloths from these (and I’m considering doing some socks) I thought I’d stock up.  Ryan’s Mom was going to Joann’s because she needed fleece to make Shawn a blanket, so since they price match, I got the yarn there.  Here’s some of what I got:

I also noticed cutting mats and rotary cutters on sale for over 50% off, and mine is so damaged that I’m not able to work on it.  Now I can get done some orders for quilting that I have piled up.

While Ry’s Mom was picking up fleece for Shawn, she also treated me to some fleece so that she could help me make one of the adult taggie blankets for myself as well.  Now all of her kids and grandkids can be warm and snuggly in fleece.  Here is the blanket that she helped me make:

I love it and it is SO warm.

We got home yesterday, and Lem was really sick… but we came home to a really, really great surprise.

 

A DISHWASHER!!!!

OMG I am so excited.

Now I can work on getting my dream kitchen in order, like I talked about in my other post.  We also went to Ikea yesterday and I got some bag storage for the kitchen, so I’m pretty excited about that as well!

Anyway, I’ve posted lots of pics today, and done a large make-up entry for not writing in so long!  I hope you enjoyed!

3 Comments

  1. mestroh(mom) said,

    January 21, 2009 at 2:31 am

    congrats on the dishwasher! I just love these blogs, It is even fun to read about what we did this weekend! We had fun. but I hope Lia is feeling better.

  2. jenniedee said,

    January 21, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Dishwasher! I’m so jealous 😀 I love the scrapbook pages. I really should make some… but I really don’t need any more hobbies. And I can’t believe you got that yarn for $1 each! The cheapest I’ve managed to get it is $1.50 each. 😦

  3. Ryan said,

    January 22, 2009 at 2:40 am

    It’s crazy how good you are with scrapbooking. If I was a scrapbooker I’d be jealous! And I’m even excited to head to the kitchen and unload our first load of dishes.


Leave a Reply

